Skip to content

FetLife

July 13, 2010
tags: , ,

I recently discovered FetLife, the ‘Facebook of kink’. I’ve always been one to make friends online, but I was a bit unsure about the idea of sharing my kink with so many identifiable people at once. At least here, at my blog, I can imagine that you’re all just shadows dancing in the distance. Still, I decided to go ahead and try it. Why not? I thought.

The more I talk to people and browse the site, the more I like it. Firstly I’m not finding FetLife quite as addicting as Facebook, probably because I know many less people and I don’t have a compulsion to check it every five minutes. Secondly, chatting with other kinky people online takes a lot of my nerves out of the equation. I don’t have to worry about face-to-face contact, and I can think a little longer about what I want to say when we’re messaging.

That’s not to say I’m only connecting on FetLife with people I haven’t met. I’m also chatting to those folks I’ve met at munches and other events in the area. Since I can’t afford the time and money it takes to go to events all week long, FetLife gives me a chance to keep in contact with those cool people and keep up all of the conversations I’d be having if we could get coffee together!

Find me at http://fetlife.com/users/512208

3 Comments leave one →
  1. slave8834 permalink
    July 13, 2010 9:16 pm

    I kneel before a cruel penguin master.

    http://tinyurl.com/sex-penguin

  2. July 15, 2010 9:25 am

    Glad you are enjoying Fetlife.

    I was a little unsure about it myself when i was first encouraged to join. Now i am thankful i did because i have been lucky enough to make a few friends on there that i’ve even met in person now.

  3. kinkyplay permalink
    February 10, 2011 1:59 pm

    I’m still not sure about FetLife yet, but I’m new too the whole meeting people online thing! It’s nice to talk to people that are kinky like me! The only thing I don’t like is when people join and don’t do anything “like put up some info”! Or do it just to see what’s out their!

Leave a Reply

