Skip to content

Flogging Paideia

June 30, 2010

A few weeks ago, I went to my very first hands-on workshop, called a “Paideia”. We learned the basics of flogging; what types of floggers one could find, the different properties they had, safety tips, basic technique, and then we got to practice. Now, unfortunately I don’t have a ton of money stored away for this kind of thing, so we practiced with socks. Probably a good idea, considering how bad my partner and I were at first and how much we kept hitting completely the wrong area.

What I wasn’t thinking about while I was sitting in my comfy chair, passing along a rabbit-fur flogger was that this would be my first experience with people actually playing in any part of the dungeon. I haven’t been to a play party yet, so the ‘play’ time at the end of the session was a new experience for me. I was surprised at how comfortable I was seeing naked play partners flogging, kissing, and, well, anything else that might have been going on. Admittedly, I was only barely comfortable enough to take off my shirt, but it was still a good first step into participating in that kind of environment.

I can’t wait for my beginner’s dungeon class on Thursday! I’m sure you all will hear all about it 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. Dixie permalink
    July 1, 2010 9:11 am

    Glad to hear that your first experience out in play wasn’t as traumatic as it sometimes seems in our head.

    Look forward to reading about your continuing journey.

Leave a Reply

